Toast with Poached Eggs

I recently learned how to poach eggs and I’m obsessed! This is my new favorite way to eat eggs.

I love how you can just youtube things now-a-days, which is how I learned. But basic gist:
Put some water into a frying pan and heat the water just below a simmer (you should be able to touch the water without feeling pain).
Add in a teaspoon (or capful) of vinegar to help coagulate the egg whites.
Add some salt (optional).
Then gently crack in the eggs and let it cook for 3 minutes. Remove the egg with a spatula and add salt + pepper.

I wanted to try the eggs with some toast, and I saw that a new Korean bakery called Tous les Jours opened up on 32nd st. I was super excited to browse around last Saturday night. They were selling one of my fave Korean breads; it’s a sliced milk bread that is super thick and fluffy, and on Sunday morning for brunch, I toasted it, spread on some jam, cut up some avocados, and poached an egg. This was the result:


I love experimenting and I think for the future, I want to think of the perfect sauce to drizzle over this dish. I’m thinking slightly sweet/jammy but a lighter consistency than syrup. I know they exist (I’ve had it in restaurants) but I just don’t know what it’s called.

This morning I toasted the bread, spread on some margerine, and placed poached eggs on top.

Best breakfast ever.

